Cytopathology Fellowship

The University of Chicago Department of Pathology offers a one-year accredited cytopathology fellowship with opportunities for both clinical and translational research. The fellowship provides comprehensive training in all aspects of diagnostic cytopathology, including traditional morphologic analysis, advanced diagnostic techniques such as flow cytometry, immunocytochemistry, and molecular diagnostics, laboratory management and quality assurance. The cytopathology service provides an immediate assessment of specimen adequacy for all aspirations obtained under an image and ultrasound guidance and offers superficial fine needle aspiration biopsy performed by a cytopathologist. The section of cytopathology currently processes about 13,000 specimens per year of which 6,000 are non-gynecologic specimens including 2,300 fine needle aspirations.

The University of Chicago is renowned for its oncology services that include a full range of cancer-related clinical and research programs. The hospitals and clinic, and the pathology department are fully computerized, facilitating data retrieval for diagnosis and research.

The fellow will gain experience in performance and interpretation of fine needle aspiration biopsies, and actively participates in conferences, teaching, research, and quality improvement activities.

Fellowship Director

Tatjana Antic, MD

Professor of Pathology

A minimum of three years' training in anatomic pathology or four years' training that combines anatomic and clinical pathology. The candidate must be able to obtain an Illinois medical license.

Commensurate with level of training.

Submit an application form, including all materials detailed on the form, to the Fellowship Coordinator Yinka Ogunbekun ( and the Fellowship Director Dr. Tatjana Antic (

  • 2025-2026: Filled
  • 2024-2025: Filled
  • 2023-2024: Filled
  • 2022-2023: Filled
  • 2021-2022: Filled
  • 2020-2021: Filled
Fellows Fellowship Years Additional Training Post-Training Position
Rachelle Mendoza, MD 2022-2023    
Andrea Olivas, MD 2021-2022    
Aaron Miller, MD 2020-2021   DuPage Pathology Associates
Hinsdale, IL
Daniel Johnson, MD 2018-2019


Little Company of Mary Hospital
Chicago IL

Bridget Banach, MD PhD 2017-2018


Delnor Hospital
Geneva, IL

Lily Mei, MD 2016-2017  

Advocate Christ Medical Center
Chicago, IL

Allison Cavallo, MD 2015-2016  

Centegra Health System

Jingyang Feng, MD 2014-2015  

Cook County Health and Hospitals System
Chicago, IL

Elizabeth Morency, MD 2013-2014  

Assistant Professor
Northwestern University
Chicago, IL

Lei Zhang, MD




Ling Gao, MD 2011-2012  

OSF Healthcare
Peoria, IL

Ajit Paintal, MD 2010-2011  

NorthShore Medical Group
Evanston, IL

Adriana Acurio, MD 2009-2010  

Winfield Pathology Consultants